This is the place where an administrator can view, setup or edit the project structure. The project structure is the core of every project and consists of folders and subfolders.
Furthermore, an administrator can subscribe the users to certain folders and attach a workflow or a form to a folder in this part of the Administration app.
A list of all folders in the project in a hierarchy defined by the administrators of the project.
A user can see this structure (or parts of the structure, according to the access rights) in the Structure App.
The structure inspector is the last column on the right. It enables you to quickly have an overview of who can view the folder, attached worklows and forms...
The number of roles that have access to the folder. When hovering over the icon, an overview with all the roles that have access will be shown.
Indicates if the users with access are subscribed to this folder by the administrator.
The number of workflows that are attached to the folder. When hovering over the icon, the attached workflows with their options are shown. You can delete the workflow or edit the settings.
Indicates the number of forms that are attached to the folder in order to use metadata for documents. When hovering over the icon, the attached forms with their options are shown. You can delete the form or edit the settings.
Synchronize your documents with third party applications.
To setup or to expand the structure of your project, you have to add folders and subfolders.
There are two ways to add a new folder:
Add folder from the action menu on top. This will create a new root folder.
Add new folder, under one of the existing folders. This will create a new folder under that folder.
After you selected "add folder", follow the next steps.
Remember that each type of folder represents an application in the application bar on the left.
Address book folder
Optionally enable fetch mail functionality to import all the emails of an email address in the Bricsys 24/7 App. This is often used for an email address that's only used for the project, to rapidly gather external email messages.
Separator: Use a separator to create a space in the structure.
Optionally select only document with a status. The binder will show only documents with the chosen status. Documents with another status can be added to the binder but they won’t be shown.
After the status is changed to the selected binder-status, the document will be shown in the binder. It's used to give a group of persons only access to documents with a certain status.
For example: A group of people only can only see the approved versions of a document.
Fill in name
Fill in the name of the folder you add.
Select an existing folder and the new folder will be added before the selected folder.
After you created the folder, you can easily drag and drop the folder to another place in the structure settings.
Add a description to your folder.
Default access rights (Optional)
Choose the default access rights at once (for all roles) or if you are adding a subfolder you can choose to copy the access rights from the parent folder.
The apps in the App bar on the left will only appear when you created a folder that's linked to an application and you have access to that folder.
Add a picture to your folder. At the moment only BIM folders show the picture in the app.
Folder subscription overview
Manage the folder subscriptions of the project.
Attaching a workflow to a folder to start a workflow for each new document and revision (if specified). You can only execute this action on document and messages folders. Please keep in mind that only released workflows are visible.
Hover over the folder
Select the action to add workflow
Select the workflow you want to attach
Choose a coordinator for the workflow
Start a new workflow for every revision
Start workflow when a revision is uploaded. Every time a new revision is added to a document, a new workflow will start. Thus there will be a workflow for every revision.
Cancel previous workflow
Cancel the previous workflow when adding a new revision. If you selected the “start workflow when a revision is uploaded”-option you can cancel the workflow of the previous revision when a new revision is uploaded.
Apply the workflow to all subfolders.
The workflow will start automatically
The workflow will start automatically when someone uploads a document in the selected folder.
Attach a Form to a folder and use the form as metadata. You can only execute this action on document folders. (See Form App)
Hover over the folder
Select the action add form
Select the form you want to attachPreviously you could only attach forms that contained a document field. In this document field you could then choose whether the metadata was stored at the document level or at the revision level. This is no longer the case.
It is now possible to attach all forms to a folder and in case there is a document/revision field in the form, the level at which the metadata is stored will be chosen, based on the document field.
If there are no more (or more) document fields in the form, you can choose with this new option at which level the metadata will be stored. There should not be any changes to existing links between forms and folders and the reading of the data will remain as it used to be.
However, if you now move a document to a folder with no form attached, you will still be able to see the metadata.
It is important to know that only forms with a document field are selectable as metadata.
Rename uploaded documents based on the fields' content
Rename uploaded documents based on the content of the fields and automatically generate a name. Select the separator that will connect the content of the fields: _ / , / - / . / Space.
When a user uploads a document and fills in a form:
Document type (invoice, plan, other): plan
Discipline (Decoration, Electrical, furniture, HVAC, plumbing, Safety, Structural): Electrical
Floor (-1,…,4): 3
The document will be renamed to Plan_Electrical_3 after upload.
Use default values
Fill in predefined values.
Apply this meta data (form) to all subfolders of this folder.
The form will be used as metadata
Each time a document is added to the folder, you can (or have to) fill in the form fields.
If you want the uploader to fill in required fields, select the “Make this field required” option in the settings of the form field.